Is it in the genes

Tonight I drove my maternal grandmother to my mother’s where she’ll be staying for the weekend. My last surviving grandparent, G’ma Pat is a keen gardener too and the conversation inevitably turned to last year’s harvest and our plans for this year.

During the journey we compared notes on what had been successful (cucumbers for her, raspberries for me) and what hadn’t fared so well (rhubarb for either of us). G’ma Pat also filled me in on what had flourished in my Uncles’ gardens (tomatoes) and what had been a disaster (raspberries).

The conversation was only brought to a close when we arrived at my mother’s where I exchanged G’ma Pat for some planters…

Leave a Reply

