Neglecting my babies for me green babies

  

 Good Friday brought spring sunshine and, with storm Katy forecast to ruin the ready of the holiday weekend, we decamped to the front garden. I was keen to get the weeds under control but Lily and Rose had other plans…

My daughters are generally very tolerant of their dad’s gardening habit but there is an inevitable conflict between my roles as gardener and as a dad. The gardener wants to make the most of every precious moment with my green babies, the dad with my actual babies.

The compromise was for them to build a camp on the drive and for me to mutter plattidues while staring steadfastly at whatever stubborn weed I was trying to extract at the time. It worked, mostly, but I couldn’t help thinking that I could have got away with it if it hadn’t been for those pesky kids!

Leave a Reply

